Importance of Staying Hydrated

Staying Hydrated

I will go right out and admit this, most of this I have learned from the unpleasant results of not staying hydrated and living with two doctors as parents and attending school with students of doctors. So as I said I have experienced the consequences of dehydration before, headaches(that have kept me from school and sports), dry lips and skin, healthy body and reduction of muscles.

Dry skin can be from the weather as much as the lack of liquids, but when the weather does dry up your skin, any liquids in your body will be called on to refresh the skin. Think of it as a dried fruit or noodles in ramen packages. Dry lips are a sign of dehydration. Drinking water keeps your lips from getting chapped. Drinking caffeinated sodas don’t supply your body with anything to hydrate your skin. Chap sticks and lip balms will soften and help your lips, but as long as your dehydrated your lips will eventually dry up again.

Water, without saying is key for a healthy body. When I was dehydrated my body began to draw liquid and what it was lacking, by degrading my muscles. I had been told by my dad that the signs (if your worried about it you can consult your doctor about the signs of it) pointed to by body degrading my own muscles. I am petite and am muscular from sports but I’m not a boy or a heavily muscled and built person. Hearing that my own body was eating away my own muscles and body because I couldn’t manage to fill and empty several more glasses of juice or water every day freaked me out. My body suffered the damage and I even found out that it takes a long time to rebuild from the damages caused by dehydration. I do know that this is not the usual post on fashion, beauty, how-to or interior design, but I decided to add it since it included dry skin and because it seems that much of the US is soaring in temperature.

Now let me hear from you!

